TRMS Upcoming Concerts

Sunday, 21.10.2018

Matinee Concert

Purcell School Students




3.00 pm matinee

Watford Colosseum Logo

Rickmansworth Road Watford WD17 3JN

  Ilai Avni  


RAVEL Ma mère l'Oye (Mother Goose) SuiteWIENIAWSKI Violin Concerto No. 2
MAHLER Symphony No. 4

Conductor: Douglas Boyd
Violin: Ilai Avni
Soprano: Madeleine Bradbury Rance

Tickets: £13.50*, £9.50* School children: £6.50*

*Prices shown are inclusive of any
applicable booking fee.

Fee-free booking for Priority members; Groups of 8+
please call 01923 474124 to buy fee-free
Box Office: 01923 571 102


to start

Wednesday, 21.11.2018

Evening Concert

Symphonia Academica (2)

Women composers finally get

much-deserved hearing

  Doreen Carwithen  

Two works by unfairly neglected women composers will be featured in the next Three Rivers Music Society concert in Rickmansworth on Wednesday, November 21.

Symphonia Academica, one of the country’s most versatile chamber ensembles, will be performing string quartets by Doreen Carwithen and Fanny Mendelssohn, older sister of the more celebrated Felix.

Buckinghamshire-born Doreen Carwithen studied composition at the Royal Academy of Music and went on to write the scores for more than 30 films in the late 1940s and 1950s – many of which were shot at Rank’s Denham Studios.

She also composed the music for Elizabeth is Queen, the official film of the 1953 coronation, as well as two prizewinning string quartets. But as music publishers at that time were very reluctant to publish work by women, she went into premature retirement in the early 1960s after setting up home with her future husband, the composer William Alwyn.

Like her brother, Fanny Mendelssohn was a musical prodigy. She composed more than 460 pieces of music during her relatively short life but she too found that her gender ruled out a career as a composer. Even her father is said to have told her: "Music will perhaps become his [Felix's] profession, while for you it can and must be only an ornament."

The November 21 concert will include rare performances of Doreen Carwithen’s String Quartet No.1, which was admired by Vaughan Williams, and Fanny Mendelssohn’s String Quartet in E flat. Symphonia Academica will also play Arthur Bliss’s Oboe Quintet Opus 21 and Benjamin Britten’s Phantasy Quartet for oboe and strings.

Wednesday 21 November 2018, 7.30pm
Symphonia Academica
Doreen Carwithen (1922-2003)  String Quartet No.1
Arthur Bliss (1891-1975)  Oboe Quintet op.21
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)  Phantasy quartet for oboe and strings
Fanny Mendelssohn (1805-1847) String quartet in E flat

Pre-concert talk by Peter Bussereau at 7.00 pm.

All seats unreserved
at the
including programme and coffee.

Concert poster
Facebook icon   Twitter logo    


to start

Wednesday, 5.12.2018

Lunchtime Concert

Walker, Butterworth & Halls Trio

Wednesday 5 December 1.00 - 2.00 pm

Jayne Walker Piano Trio
Jane Walker (violin)
Steven Halls (cello)
David Butterworth organ, piano

Franz Schubert (1797-1828) Piano Trio No.2 in E flat op.100 D929-
1. Allegro;  2. Andante con moto;  3. Scherzando: Allegro moderato;  4. Allegro moderato

Joseph Rheinberger (1839-1901) Variations from Suite in C minor op.149, for organ, violin and piano

All seats unreserved
at the
including programme and coffee.

Concert notes
Facebook icon   Twitter logo   Eventbrite logo  


to start


All Tickets

Evening Lunchtime Book now
Door or advance online sales
Members & Patrons 15.00 5.00

Symphonia Academica (2)

Walker, Butterworth & Halls Trio

Non-members 16.00 6.00
All under the age of 25* Free
*Proof of age may be required
  to start

If you would like to be placed on our MAILING LIST,
or for any other information about our concerts,
please e-mail